Know Scott Spotson

22/08/2013 16:42

Hi, I have the pleasure of introducing that you author Scott Spotson. He is among the great author’s on Goodreads, which can be where we met. Scott has written three books: Life II, a moment travel novel; Seeking Dr. Magic, a novel that imagines what are the results each time a powerful wizard comes old as being a kid, and wreaks his havoc on the globe, which is yet unaware of his existence; and You Know You’re Thin When…, a humor book using large single panel cartoons. He also has a great blog and website that I recommend you look at! I love unique sites this also one certainly ranks up there as one you’ll remember.

Scott Spotson can also be Canadian, which I only mention because I think that is certainly cool and I’m frankly envious. Canada is awesome. And Canadian writers…well, I haven’t met one which I didn’t like! So check out Scott’s interview after which examine his books!

And now, introducing author Scott Spotson:

1. When did you begin writing?

I began writing since elementary school. I would create, by hand, short stories, sometimes for classes, sometimes for myself. But not like novels. I did enter a shorter story contest when I concerned ten years old, within my small town, and I won. I wrote my first novel when I was 20, plus it was in relation to a love triangle that two young male roommates at university have every time a new university young woman walks within their lives. Also, one guy was more bookish whilst the other guy was a greater portion of a James Dean type, and lastly, aforementioned one has got the girl eventually. (It was a clean young adult piece!) I sent it to 1 or two publishers, but nothing came of it. This was way before the period of the Internet, so I put it on the shelf and didn’t write again for several more years.

I started writing again recently and was amazed at just how much everything had changed. Remembering the old paradigm, I even sent my new manuscript to a few publishers, nevertheless nothing came from it. But now that we have simple and easy , relatively cost-free self-publishing, I decided to self-publish now, and I find it irresistible. My first book being published was “Life II,” a moment-travel novel.

2. What brought one to the crazy endeavor that is certainly writing and self-publishing?

I honestly didn’t know about the ease of self-publishing nowadays. I thought I would again require through mainstream publishing companies. That’s how dedicated I was. I was relieved afterwards, to find out that one can indeed self-publish without having to pay for lots of books that no one ever reads. I found out via a local newspaper article of a new local author, and I contacted her by email, and she or he subsequently said about Createspace. The rest is history.

3. What are your hopes as a writer?

Well, I’d be lying if I didn’t say I hope to get famous as a possible author, also to have my works become Hollywood blockbusters and after that retire rich! But my expectations today are modest: to possess as much readers enjoy my books as much as possible, and also to truly you can keep them elect to enjoy my books, instead of trying to prove myself or get it done “for myself.” I think as soon as authors start realizing that their books are not “in demand” is as soon as they should try and improve, or find new stories to tell, or leave industry to writers that can learn better. Happily, I am finding that my books do have an authentic market who enjoys them.

4. You have three books published. How long did they take you to definitely write? What is your favorite genre?

YKYTW Cover FinalMy favourite genre will almost always be science fiction, due to future-looking implications, along with the possibility the unlimited can happen. Life II took about three months to publish, after about one month of plotting, then about two more months of editing. Seeking Dr. Magic took about two weeks of plotting, 8 weeks to publish, and one month of editing. You Know You’re Thin When… differs, because I actually didn’t do most of the book. I wrote the blurbs, nonetheless it took some time (naturally) to the artists to draw in the cartoons. They’re great!

5. Tell me just a little bout your books and whatever you enjoyed and liked minimal about writing them.

Life II Book Cover jpg Dec 21Well, Life II is incredibly personal to me, as it re-imagines life if you lived it once again, changing what you can. I also loved the science fiction that intrudes upon a typical life, for example watching the Time Weaver and after that that weird but incredible incident when Max sits inside a cafe with Lucinda (look at book to learn more). A few reviewers have offered their opinion which they didn’t want a whole lot of science fiction in Life II, but I just couldn’t imagine just having Max shuttle into his new life without an explanation. Also, I just couldn’t imagine finishing off Max’s new life with no minor bang that ties returning to the Time Weaver. To me, the science fiction elements are why Life II deliciously fun to read.

Dr Magic Cover March 9As for Seeking Dr. Magic, I think what is important is always that I made the ebook fun to see, and I attemptedto embark two super egos that both needed to get lessen and adjust to reality. A lot of people informed me they loved both characters, it’s being a “cat-and-mouse” game, and so they found themselves rooting for starters character in one chapter, then the other within the next chapter, and forwards and backwards. That’s exactly what I tried to do. It’s a legendary battle minus the tired truism which they must fight to the death.

As for which I liked the very least about writing my books, I think the only thing is my impatience. I have the stories in my head, I want the books to be sold exactly the same day. I find it tough to attend to create and edit, and acquire the covers and have them published. I honestly don’t discover how the standard writers would wait eighteen months or a couple of years to get their books published through the traditional publishing firms. Wow.

6. How can you develop story ideas? Are you a plotter or does one write on-the-fly?

I’m definitely a plotter. I carry a journal around with me at night, and I take note of notes whenever I can. When outside and exercising more than a distance, whether it be swimming, cycling, or jogging, may be the best. One time I was with a four hour cycle trip with my loved ones near home also it was hard, because I had developed about twenty scenes for your same one book inside my head together to try and memorize every one of them so I could write every one of them down later when I got home.
I don’t start writing until I have a coherent plot. I may not have every chapter plotted out in advance, but I have each of the scenes plotted out.

7. Do you might have a work-in-progress? If so, tell me much more about this.

I have two underway.

One is a love triangle, with young adults (but comfortably inside their late 20’s, so much more an adult book) where among the two women in the triangle is truly a witch, even though you wouldn’t understand it from considering her. I don’t desire to hand out a lot of, but basically this witch leans toward the evil, with bouts of conscience among, and uses her magic powers to gradually do away with her competition minus the other woman being aware of orlando. It’ll be described as a clean read, needless to say. “Delusional” needs to be published by August or September 2013

The other is the place four wizards arrogantly, but inside the belief they are benevolent gods who can vastly improve society, control power inside our current Earth. They bring their spirit of advanced knowledge and love of games and competition with these, so it’s an appealing study in culture clash. We see what are the results in the event the “mortals,” through a Supreme Liaison named Amanda, herself one of many humans, reply to their new laws and economic reforms. “The Four Kings” ought to be published by October or November 2013.

8. I met you via a Goodreads review group, so I’m guessing you like you just read too. What genres do you read?

Really, I come with an eclectic reading preference, it’s normal for me to see four books as well, skipping in one to a new determined by my interest tomorrow. However, I hate horror or consistently dystopian novels and then there is not to cheer for in the novel. I also don't like preachy books the place that the author seems more interested in sending a note, rather than entertaining. Certainly, books can impart lessons, however, if the author are able to do so through hooking your interest, that’s a fantastic book.

9. Every Indie author always seems to looking to interact with and attract readers, so I ought to ask: where would you go to find new things you just read?

It’s impossible not to nowadays, numerous books just begging to become read. Through many fellow authors on Goodreads, I can find new indie books to read. I think the challenge nowadays is excessive choice, in lieu of too little. And that’s an excellent thing.

10. What impacts your choice about what to purchase you just read? Cover, book blurb, other reviews, sales/price? Which is most critical for your requirements?

I would repeat the story. If there is speculative fiction going on inside real world, I think that will grab my interest. Some people refer to it magic realism, but I enjoy it at the personal level. If it’s something that happens in my opinion as I go about my boring life, and it’s certainly impossible, and yes it’s in a book, I would love to see it. That’s why I loved writing Life II. The main character finds himself living through his life again, and it’s his choice. In Seeking Dr. Magic, a detective finds himself using his wits on something hasn't happened in his world before – seeking an enchanting being who just appears away from nowhere. That’s why I loved Back to the Future – a teenage boy finds himself returning to college into time and energy to meet his parents being a similar age as him – exactly what a concept!

Fellow authors, you might have come with an extraordinary event happening to an ordinary citizen inside real world, as there are magic or science fiction involved, and there’s an element of (happy) wonder conveyed, send it to me – I’ll analyze it for you!

—-

Wow, that's a proposal! I’m sure there will be described as a not enough people taking Scott high on that.

Thanks so much to your time, Scott. It has been great observing you and the novels sound great! For anyone who would like to go take them into consideration, you are able to keep to the links to find Life II and Dr. Magic